Honey Walnut Pumpkin Bread

I’m back after a break. I have been busy for past few weeks. Reasons… are many. Your friends don’t need it, your enemies are not gonna believe it :). So, let’s keep the reasons aside. Good thing is I kept clicking all that I cooked and its all gonna be on the blog shortly!!

To make up for my absence from blog, I bring a little treat for you. Honey Walnut Pumpkin Bread, a bread which is moist inside and crunchy outside. This recipe was adapted from here. I had this really fresh farm grown pumpkin at home. Generally we make palya or sambhar with pumpkins. This time I wanted to try something new with pumpkin and this bread seemed to be just what I wanted. I have slightly changed the recipe to get this yummy tasting bread!

Ingredients

1/2   a large pumpkin or  1 and 1/4 cup of pumpkin puree
1/2 tsp dry ginger powder or 1 tbsp of grated ginger
1/3 cup Oil
1/3 cup Honey
1/3 cup Milk
1/4 cup Water (Substitute for Egg)
1 tsp vanilla extract
6 tbsp sugar
1 tsp cinnamon powder
1/4 tsp cloves powder
1/4 tsp nutmeg powder
1 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
1 and 1/2 cup Wheat flour
 

How to go about…

Preheat the oven to 180 degree Celsius.

Remove the skin and seeds of the pumpkin and chop them. Heat a heavy-bottomed pan. Add in the pumpkin pieces.
image

Cook them closed. It took about 10 mins to cook for me.
image

Once the pumpkins are cooked, let them cool. After they are cooled, grind them into smooth paste along with grated ginger(Add ginger only if you are not using the dry ginger powder).
image

I got a heaped cup of pumpkin puree. You can ignore the above steps if you are using canned puree.
image

In a large bowl, add in the wet ingredients, i.e oil, milk, honey, water, vanilla extract, pumpkin puree. To this add the sugar as well and mix well.
image

To this add the spices, baking soda, baking powder, salt. Mix well.
image

Add in the flour and stir.Add the walnuts and stir again.
image
Grease a bread pan. Pour the batter in the pan.
image

Bake the bread in the oven for about 50-60 mins till a toothpick inserted comes out clean.
Cool it on wire rack for 15 mins before removing it from the pan.
Slice it. And Enjoy!!

Half the bread vanished in seconds before I could get my hand on the camera. Here’s what remained for the pic!
image

 

Leave a Reply

